Runescape – Dying Out?

Posted: June 12, 2015 in Games
Tags: , , , ,

If you’ve been playing games since you were a kid or have been playing runescape back in the years between 2001 to today in 2015 you may be aware that it is slowly declining in its number of players. 

Runescape is a mythology based game; from dragons to goblins to even becoming a knight of Gielinor, the possibilities are endless.

Growing problems are starting to arise for Jagex. 

I am a very experienced player when it comes to runescape. I am fifteen and have actually been playing since I was 7 or 8. 

Runescape offers a gamer the experience to adventure through a world full of original skills and quests to develop their own character in a world full of what once was filled with hundreds of thousands of players. 

Unfortunately due to old school Runescape becoming a feature and a lot of the game becoming members only content has impacted the game and it’s players heaps. 

Ranging from wood cutting to farming to even combat levelling this game offers a lot of variety to your average MMORPG game. 

Although the graphics and player control availability could be a lot better I still find this game very enjoyable to play when I have nothing else better to do. 

On the actual topic this blog, this game’s players are on the steady down fall. 

From what was once over two thousand people on each server it now barely gets a hundred per server. 

I have seen some servers with just thirty players!

I actually don’t know why this is or how this has come about so quickly but I do have some theories. 

  1. Members content has annoyed players and players are finding the content and what it’s actually worth their money. 
  2. Moving a lot of the free to play content to members only. 
  3. No real updates in content. Including quests and world.
  4. No real character availabilities or customisation. 
  5. Hackers, bots and scammers becoming more and more common. 
  6. Competition with other huge MMO’S such as World of Warcraft and ARK: Survival Evolved. 

This is my opinion. 

I hope Jagex go to extreme measures to bring some great content to the table to stand up to some of these other huge games. 

Thanks for reading,

Peace, 

jasonMBlogs 

Comments
  1. swoggie says:

    i remember my oldest brother playing runescape a whole lot when i was younger and my parents never let me,

    It looked like so much fun he would be grinding giant bones or mining or even collection chicken feathers until he had enough for the best whip for pvp, i remember the startup you would fight these goblins and go through a training but, when i tried playing a few years later it just didn’t seem like the same game and i couldn’t get into it.

    i think the game was lost in translations trying to make it look good with better settings and adding new tutorials.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello!

      Thanks for your comment!

      Yeah I do understand that!

      The games taken a new turn to their tutorials and actual gameplay itself.

      I still remember playing the first or second even tutorial location where you fight the dragon in the cave beneath I believe, Jacks house.

      Apologies if I got the name wrong.

      I hope they turn back to the past as that was what I really enjoyed out of the game.

      Peace,

      Jason

      Like

Leave a Reply

